If you are a student at Michigan State University, you are well educated and understand that what you are facing is not a joke and should be handled seriously. The reasons for this include the nature of the MIP statute in Michigan, the police agencies in East Lansing, the 54-B District court and the prosecutors that serve in those courts. When you add all of this to the penalties that are possible for an MIP as well as the stigma attached to a misdemeanor conviction, it is time to call your parents and retain an attorney to be with you every step of the way.
Michigan MIP Statute Summary
- First MIP Offense: $100 fine plus costs, no jail, Community Service, Substance Abuse Screening – this is if you are convicted of the charge. There may be additional fines and costs and requirements if you are placed on probation under a statutory diversion program. Prior juvenile offenses, even diversions, could count as a prior MIP conviction so you need to seek counsel immediately.
- 2nd offense $200 fine plus costs, Community Service, Substance Abuse Screening
- License sanction – 90 days suspension, possible restrictions after 30 days from Secretary of State
- 30 days jail if probation violation or fail to comply with certain sentencing requirements
- Need to remember that prior adult or juvenile diversions (even successfully completed) can count as a prior offense and may enhance your sentence. Contact an MIP attorney immediately if you have ANY juvenile or adult alcohol arrests.
- 3rd offense $500 fine plus costs, Community Service, Substance Abuse Screening
- License sanction – 1 year suspension, possible restrictions after 60 days for remaining 305 days of suspension from Secretary of State
- 60 days jail if probation violation or fail to comply with certain sentencing requirements.
Medical Amnesty and Other MIP Defenses
The latest update to the Michigan MIP statute included a medical amnesty provision that prohibits charging an individual who initiates medical treatment or accompanies a roommate or friend to a health care facility. This is a complicated statute, so be sure to contact an MIP attorney to get an opinion on whether or not your case my qualify.
In addition, you may have defenses based on the PBT test conducted in your case, confessions elicited without Miranda warnings, and the initial stop being illegal.
Call Attorney Ray Purdy today for a FREE East Lansing MIP consultation at (616) 502-1646